Natch, it’s the Naturals dominating All-Star squad

Northwest Arkansas’ Naturals are having a good season with the best record in the Texas League, 37-24, as of Monday, and they’ve been rewarded. Nine players will be on the North Division roster for the league’s all-star game on June 30 at Midland, Texas.

Five Naturals were voted into the starting lineup: second baseman Johnny Giavotella, third baseman Mike Moustakas, outfielders Paulo Orlando and Derrick Robinson, and designated hitter Clint Robinson. Also on the squad are pitchers Mike Montgomery, Edgar Osuna and Mario Santiago and outfielder Tim Smith.

The Naturals’ manager, Brian Poldberg, will skipper the North squad. Hitting coach Terry Bradshaw and trainer Tony Medina also will be on the staff.

The 24-man rosters in the North and South divisions were selected by a voting panel that included league officials, managers, coaches, radio broadcasters and beat writers.

–Dick Kaegel

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s